Social Media

How Does Facebook Targeted Advertising Work? A Closer Look

Did you know that Facebook has 2.9 million active users monthly? That impressive number makes it the largest social media platform in the world. It’s no wonder many businesses use Facebook targeted advertising.

Are you considering using Facebook advertising to grow your business? Do you have questions about how Facebook ads work?

The following guide will explain everything you need to know about using the popular platform to reach new customers. Read on to learn how to start growing your brand using Facebook.

What Is Facebook Targeted Advertising?

Facebook advertisements target users using their location, demographics, and the information in their profile.

Broad categories include specific topics like music genres, movies, and electronics. Expecting parents, people who have moved, and those with upcoming birthdays are also examples of demographic categories.

Detailed interest targeting is based on profile information such as interests, liked pages, app usage, and other profile content. Detailed interest targeting often produces the best return on investment.

Facebook can also target users similar to your current customers using “Lookalike Audiences.” Retargeting is another option that finds users already familiar with your brand and shows them more dynamic ads.

Types of Advertisements

There are options to advertise your Facebook page, specific posts on your page, user actions, or your own website. Users see these ads in the Facebook sidebar of their newsfeed.

Facebook focuses heavily on native ads to maintain its own traffic. However, it’s still an effective platform to drive traffic to your own personal site. Off-site ads still work best for direct response advertisers trying to boost sales.

Other ad formats to choose from include images, carousels, videos, and collections. Facebook also offers Instant Experiences, which open full-screen content for users that tap mobile ads.

Facebook Advertising Cost

It’s time to set up your budget after choosing your type of advertisement. The cost of Facebook ads depends on the billing type you choose.

CPC is an option in which you pay for each click on your advertisement. Facebook helps generate the clicks based on your overall budget. Cost per click is a great way to send as many visitors to your website as possible.

Cost per impression involves Facebook taking your budget and dividing it by the number of impressions you received. Then it’s multiplied by 1,000. So, if your budget is $100 and you get 10,000 impressions your CPM is $10.

Cost per action divides your budget by the number of actions you receive. You pick the specific action which includes things like new subscribers or purchases. CPA is a very effective way to promote an app.

Cost per engagement is a good billing choice for getting more likes, shares, and other engagements on your posts. CPE is calculated by dividing your total budget by the number of user engagements you receive.

Ready To Advertise With Facebook?

Now you know what Facebook targeted advertising is and how it works. It’s an effective way to reach new customers for your specific needs. Remember this guide, select a billing option that’s right for you, and grow your brand!

Check out the rest of our blog for more great business tips and other digital marketing information.

Related Articles

Back to top button